Jozi Lunch/Dinners

Espresso, Parkhurst

Espresso Caffe and Bistro Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

So what started off as a ‘hole in the wall’ has just continued to expand along Parkhurst’s 4th Avenue. It’s a really popular spot over weekends (so is most of the Parkhurst strip for that matter) but not short of people during the week either.

dsc_9433dsc_9428

It isn’t the prettiest of places and the decor isn’t screaming modern or posh  but I have been back a number of times in the past few months because I enjoy the location and the atmosphere very much.

Who knows how, but they have gotten away with not accepting cards for all the years they have been open. They do however have an atm in the corner, so not having cash on you won’t be an excuse not to visit!

dsc_9426dsc_9424

Their menu is large and pretty overwhelming. I am generally a fan of more limited menus because I have always thought that the chef is able to put extra effort into specific dishes. Saying that though, I am yet to be disappointed with a meal that I’ve ordered from here. (A lot of the seafood dishes don’t have prices and just indicate SQ –  ask the waiters for their SQ price-list and they will happily bring you a copy).

Ok, so truth be told… A friend got me hooked on their ‘Espresso Pizza (R119)’ which has Calamari and bacon as a topping and is drenched in their signature sauce. I have gone back for that on most occasions and think it gets more tasty every time!  The calamari, chips and sauce (R133) is my second favourite dish thus far and the pregos (R95) are a winner too.

dsc_9443dsc_9436

If you do enjoy the Parkhurst scene then I would definitely put Espresso on my list to try.

  • Food 4/5
  • Value 3/5
  • Service 4/5
  • Atmosphere 5/5
  • Overall Rating = 4/5

Contact: 011 447 8700

