Jozi Lunch/Dinners

Thava, Norwood

Thava Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

So just in time for the weekend, I thought a review is definitely overdue.

This was recommended to me by a few people so I was glad to finally get out to try it. I love Indian food and looked forward to what Thava had to offer.

The restaurant is quite obscurely located at 44 The Avenue & Grove Avenue (up from the well known Grant Avenue), so be careful not to miss it. The interior is spacious and there’s definitely no shortage of seating! For a week night I was quite surprised to see just how much it actually filled up. The decor is simple but there’s no doubt that you’re in an Indian restaurant by looking at the bright table cloths, trimmings and paintings.

Edit1

Edit12

To kick off the evening we ordered drinks and were given some delicious Indian snacks. If I didn’t care about spoiling my appetite, I would have finished the entire bowl! They have a small but decent selection of wines that are not badly priced by the bottle (R100-R150). It was more pricey to get just a glass though and the variety was limited.

To start we had a portion of chicken samoosas (R35) and vegetable patties (R35). I preferred the samoosas but the patties, although small, were full of flavour and worth a try.

Edit5Edit6

I am a huge Naan fan but have lately discovered Paratha’s and now look out for them whenever we order Indian food. Mostly they don’t live up to my expectation but with a Tandoor oven in full view, I think this may have been my favourite. We couldn’t not order Naan though and it was also very tasty!

Edit10

For mains we ordered a full portion of Butter Chicken (R85) and a tapas portion of Lamb Rogan Josh (R45). Succulent chicken and full of flavour, both dishes were awesome!

Edit8Edit9

The thing that stands out about Thava is their service. The manager was really friendly and checked up on us regularly as well. He mentioned that they also have branches in Midrand and Ballito which I would like to try when I’m next at the coast.

To end off the night with a bit of a sugar rush we decided to try their deep fried ice-cream. The portion size was generous and the pasty wasn’t too thick. YUM!

Edit15

This would not be considered a cheap night out but we were well-fed and not left wanting by the end of the evening. Definitely worth a visit in my opinion!

  • Food 4.5/5
  • Value 3.5/5
  • Service 4.5/5
  • Atmosphere 4/5
  • Overall Rating = 4/5

Contact: 011 728 2826

