Jozi Lunch/Dinners

Perron, Bryanston

Perron Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

When I saw that a second branch of Perron had opened up in Bryanston, at Hobart Grove Centre, I was absolutely delighted! Memories of the Corlett branch sprang to mind and I couldn’t believe my luck to have it open 1 block from home.

Perron would have to be considered one of Joburg’s most authentic Mexican restaurants. I think the most alluring thing about it is the atmosphere which really does make you want to return. While the furniture is simple, the general decor is unique and cool.

Edit1Edit2

It would be wise to book as it has followed suit with its predecessor and gets rather full. The waitress handled it pretty well though and we were looked after during the evening.

Edit3

The food is served mostly in a tapas type style and it really is best to share with someone if you want to get a taste of a few things on the menu. The waitress recommended that the whole table share dishes but I am not a fan of total chaos so it worked better to pair up and choose various plates. The los mas pequenos (little tapas) are R50-R60 and it was recommended to share 4 plates between 2 people but even as a girl I’d recommend at least 5 to share.

Edit4
veektor burrito – chipotle chicken with Spanish onion

Edit10

The food is interesting looking and tasty.. My real gripe with Perron though is their portion size. For example, it costs R52 for 2 tiny empanadas which taste delicious – don’t get me wrong – but that just seems to me like very little bang for my buck!

I don’t consider myself a particularly greedy eater but when I’m paying R200 for my food, I expect a little more than a side plate.

On the up side though, the churros for dessert is a winner and they also have a pretty decent wine list and some cocktails that won’t completely break the bank!

Edit11
churros – Mexican doughnut, rolled in cinnamon and sugar 

A great place to go with a group of friends for drinks and a little nibble but as for dinner, I don’t think I’ll be back.

Edit9

  • Food 4/5
  • Value 1.5/5
  • Service 3/5
  • Atmosphere 4/5
  • Overall Rating = 3/5

Contact: 011 706 7841

