Jozi Breakfasts

Arbour Cafe & Courtyard, Illovo

Arbour Cafe & Courtyard Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

After having a gps meltdown and having to use good old maps, I finally found this little spot right behind Wonderers Stadium!

DSC_5466

Despite being in a good location, it’s slightly outshone by ‘Vodoo Lily Cafe’ which is just 2 doors down and was packed when I walked by. We sat inside and did not even realise, until after breakfast, that there is a pretty courtyard out back! (Ok, so I didn’t pay enough attention when I read the name)

DSC_5486

This is a cute spot for a decent breakfast if you don’t mind spending a bit. It didn’t break the bank but for R130 (breakfast and a mouth-watering Chai Latte) it’s not cheap either. The mint and ginger tea is worth a try if you’re avoiding caffeine and dairy or if you’re just more of a tea fan.

DSC_5481

The bacon was delicious, streaky and crispy, just like I like it! I was slightly disappointed with their famous Galettes though (I had the scrambled egg and bacon one) as I felt like there was far more ‘pancake’ than there was filling.

DSC_5492aDSC_5497
The service could definitely have been better but it wasn’t to the point of frustration.

Nice spot with lots of potential, just in need of slight fine-tuning! 🙂

  • Food 4/5
  • Value 3.5/5
  • Service 3/5
  • Atmosphere 4/5
  • Overall Rating = 3.5/5

Contact: 011 788 4111

