Jozi Lunch/Dinners

Parea, Illovo

I have wanted to try this spot for ages and finally got to go on Friday evening with a group of girlfriends.. The decor, although typically Greek, came across as a little ‘tired’ and I was not crazy about it. Having said that though, I could imagine that there would be many similarly decorated places in Greece itself.

DSC_4927

We started with delicious dips (brinjal, feta, hummus & tzatziki) and warm pitas which I can highly recommend. Main meals varied from fish and calamari to salad and wraps ending off which a piece of Baklava and ice-cream. The food is reasonably priced and I would recommend sharing different mezes if you’re with a group.

I was rather disappointed with my Halloumi/Chicken wrap that I ordered as it came with an overload of sauce, NO Halloumi and very little chicken. The waitress attended to it quickly but again, although tasty, it was mostly just sauce and very minimal filling. Everyone else seemed pretty happy with their meals though.

collage-2016-01-18 (3)

It gets very festive and loud later in the evening as plates get broken and belly dancers come out to entertain. We even got roped into doing a few moves on the dance floor. It makes for an interesting evening but if you’re looking for a quiet dinner out then I would not recommend Parea.

DSC_4977
DSC_4948

A pleasant experience overall. I wasn’t blown away but I wasn’t disappointed either and for the price and location, I’d go back! 🙂

 

  • Food 3/5
  • Value 3.5/5
  • Service 3.5/5
  • Atmosphere 4/5
  • Overall Rating = 3.5/5

Contact: 011 788 8777

