Jozi Lunch/Dinners

Vicky Cristina’s, Craighall

This Spanish, tapas bar is nestled in the corner of The Colony on Jan Smuts and the bright sign outside has caught my eye for some time now. I have heard mixed reviews about the place (mostly that it is overpriced) and so decided I’d have to try it out myself. The atmosphere is lively on a Friday evening and the place was busy with quite a few large groups attending birthday parties. Rumour has it they have a private room downstairs that can be used for private parties/functions but I did not venture that far.

DSC_2539 DSC_2532

For a table of four we ordered 5 tapas and shared those between ourselves. The tapas range from R40-R80 and my favourite was the Crumbed Halloumi. The ‘Moorish Lamb’ was presented nicely in a miniature potjie pot and was also enjoyed by all. The main meals largely vary in price and would be considered to be in the slightly higher price range of between R100-R200. 

DSC_2517 DSC_2537

This would not be my weekly hangout as I prefer quieter dinners spent chatting to friends and ordering my own delicious meal, instead of sharing tapas, BUT if you’re looking for a festive dinner with a group of friends this is not a bad option. The highlight of the evening was getting to sit back and enjoy some Spanish Dancing and live music. Lots of tap dancing and noise-making as can be expected by the Spanish.

DSC_2531 DSC_2519

It was better than I expected and although the prices weren’t as excessive as I thought they would be this would not be considered a cheap night out.

Enjoy!!

  • My Rating: 3/5
  • Contact: 011 325 1263
